The O’Shea’s have loved the hospitality business for nearly a century.
It started way back when the young Mary O’Shea moved to Chicago in 1923, leaving her large family’s farm life behind for the big city and finding her true calling in hospitality. She would bring that enthusiasm and experience to Louisville in 1958 and open Mary’s Chateau. It was the beginning of a 4 generation family business focused on providing great cheer to all they served.
Mary’s Chateau soon became the place Louisvillians went for Cabaret-style entertainment and great libations and where the next generation of O’Sheas, Tom and Kevin, would learn to love the family business and continue to perfect the O’Shea’s signature combination of entertainment and refreshment.
Mary’s became O’Shea’s Pub in 1980 and in 1994 moved to Baxter Avenue in the Highlands, helping to anchor the new entertainment district that was growing in that famous neighborhood. Another generation of O’Shea’s had begun to put their stamp on the business, adding great pub fare to the O’Shea’s brand and creating one of the most charming and welcoming destinations in town.
In 2010 Patrick O’Shea’s opened in Downtown Louisville. The family reclaimed a four story historic building in the Iron Quarter, adding O’Shea’s style, charm and legendary welcome to the downtown renaissance and welcoming the 4th generation of O’Shea’s into the fold.
In keeping with the family tradition of great hospitality in great neighborhoods, our latest location, H.M. Frank’s opened in downtown Jeffersonville in Spring of 2016. Another great building has been refurbished and is now home to the newest incarnation of O’Shea’s, offering a world class bar, great food and entertainment to O’Shea’s fans across the river, in just the kind of friendly, welcoming venue they have come to expect.
Mary would be so proud.